Roy G. Biv

For most 20 and 30-somethings, the title to this day’s entry should be all too familiar.  It’s how most of us learned the colors of the rainbow. ROYGBIV (red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, & violet).  Although I never was really able to distinguish between indigo and blue or violet and purple…oh well. 

Nevertheless, I gave myself a goal for shopping: Buy every color of the rainbow.  So, I did.

Let me first start by saying how much I like grocery shopping.  I didn’t used to.  But, as I’ve gotten older, I have begun to appreciate ethnic foods, “odd” cheeses, and pesto (mmmmm).  These aren’t all I enjoy, but you get the picture.  So, when you limit yourself to only the perimeter of the grocery store, you then become more aware of the cool stuff.  You can’t help but find the unusual!  With that said, I didn’t really find anything unusual, but I did find some good deals on stuff you would not usuallyt find deals on (i.e BOGO free olive oil, pesto, and sundried tomatoes).  These were even in the perimeter, for the time being.

Walking in to Publix was a huge assault on my willpower today, though.  Many of you are aware of their great BOGO deals, today was no different.  Boxed macaroni kits, sugary cereal, juices, soda B2GO…the list goes on. So, I had to keep telling myself how these things are not on the perimeter everyday…so, I proceeded to the deli and wasn’t too tempted.

Ok, so back to ROYGBIV.  I thought I would get my shopping done sooner by not going up and down every aisle.  HA!  I was there almost 2 hours.  Holy Macaroni!  I guess when you really start looking at the quality of your foods, and what their ingredients are, you spend more time REALLY seeing what you put into the cart. 

By the time I was finished, I had acquired (in ROYGBIV order):

  • Strawberries, apples, and tomatoes
  • Oranges, Orange Juice, carrots
  • Spaghetti squash, summer squash, Buitoni fettuccine
  • Romaine, sugar snap peas
  • Cream cheese (the package is blue)
  • Grape juice and Cherry Juice (ok, so I wouldn’t normally get Juicy juice, but it was BOGO, and I can use it to sweeten other recipes)
  • Meatballs from the butcher block, Makotos ginger dressing
  • Eggs, Jalapeno Havarti, Havarti, Fresh Parmesan, & Redi Whip (don’t be hating)

I think I got most of the colors...

When I had finished shopping, I realized I hadn’t eaten lunch and I really didn’t want to make anything once I got home and unloaded the car.  So, I also purchased a sub combo from the deli.  Ironically, the Diet Coke ran out of syrup while I was dispensing it from the fountain.  This should have been a sign that I was making the right choice in not purchasing sodas for a while!

So dinner tonight was Meatballs over fettucine with summer squash and a salad of Romaine and parmesan.

Tomorrow…orange porkchops

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

